Grand slam for MC2 as Wallenberg Scholars 2024 are appointed

163 0
Peter Modh
/ Categories: Myfab Chalmers

Floriana Lombardi, Peter Andrekson and Per Delsing, all active at MC2, are three of the eleven Chalmers researchers who will be appointed Wallenberg Scholars in 2024. With the grants from the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, they may now push the borders of knowledge in high-temperature superconductors, space communication and qubits with longer coherence times. 

On Tuesday, March 26, the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation presented the 118 Swedish researchers who, starting this year, are part of the Wallenberg Scholars program. The program was initiated in 2009 and aims to give the country's leading researchers space for free research and resources to motivate them to stay in Sweden. Together, they receive 2.1 billion SEK - up to 18 - 20 million each - in research funding over a five-year period. Eleven of this year's selected are active at Chalmers, three of whom are based at the Department of Microtechnology and Nanoscience: Floriana Lombardi, Professor quantum materials and nanodevices, Peter Andrekson, Professor of photonics, and Per Delsing, Professor of quantum technology.